When you hear the word celibate it sends most people running for the hills. Thankfully it was brought to my attention AFTER I decided to commit to GOD with my entire being. If you know me, you know I was raised by a Preacher and a housewife so it shouldn’t of been taboo right? WRONG! Not only were mom and dad Preacher and preacher’s wife but they were from the SOUTH. YOU KNOW that’s like the military don’t ask, don’t tell policy. I was brought up on don’t have sex, no explanation, no talks just DON’T DO IT! So you bet I went straight to the streets to experiment. I won’t speak on all my relationships but about 6 years ago I got in a relationship with a guy who I thought was HIM, IT, THE ONE AND ALL THAT! Long story short we have a 4 year old daughter now who I raise alone. I went through HELL, the trenches and some horrible days the last couple of years with this person. I finally prayed and said “God, I’m going to end this relationship BUT I don’t want to hurt like I did a few months ago when I put him out.” I got off my bed packed his things, dropped them off, got my daughter, went to court for 6 months won custody and was DONE. It was after that I decided to get on the right track with GOD fully. I can honestly say reading different blogs, following high power pastors and people of God brought me through. I was lost and when I connected to other women of God I was learning what was required of me. I decided celibacy was a path I’d take and it’s been 22 months since I made that decision. I have met a few guys but when they hear me say I’m celibate they look for the nearest exit. I’m saving myself for my husband and that will NOT be changed by anyone who just wants my body and to run off. Now I know God smiles on me for honoring his commands. The way I see it is; if a man truly loves you he won’t taint your body before he commits solely to you. He’ll know his worth and respect that you know yours and marry you. Are you familiar with the term “why buy the cow if you can get the milk for free?” Yes sex IS CREATED FOR MARRIAGE, not for anybody who just wants a 5 second thrill and will be in the next persons bed in 10 minutes. All you do is create a soul tie ( a connection through sharing your body with someone who is not your husband) and leave you broken and your body used. I’ve heard people say well it’s just a piece of paper, yes it is a piece of paper that GOD created and designed for us to be committed and create families through. I’ve heard people say well don’t you have a daughter? YES I DO, I had premarital sex and in turn have become a single mother because that person wasn’t the right one for me and doesn’t do his part so I learned from my mistakes. Let’s discuss some pros of being celibate

1. YOU GET TO KNOW THE PERSON: This shows you who the person is, where their morals are, if they have a relationship with Christ, if they respect their body and yours.

2. YOU CAN BUILD A FRIENDSHIP: It allows you to be friends, have fun, learn about each other,  and IF they are right for you then you can start to date

3. YOU LEARN WHO CARES FOR YOU AND WHO JUST WANTS YOUR BODY: most men/women who come trying to get with you have NO intention of marrying you. You just share your body with them and that isn’t going to keep them. You’ve just tied your soul to them and they are off to the next person who’ll have the.

4. YOU ARE WALKING IN GOD’S WILL: God is smiling on you and will in turn send you a mate that you can be courted by or court. He’ll send you that one person who you are designed to be with and who you can have a family with. If you honor him then he’ll in turn honor you, your life and your marriage.

5. YOU CHERISH YOURSELF SO THAT YOU DON’T ACCEPT ANYTHING BUT THE BEST: It’s amazing to have standards and once you cherish yourself, you will only accept the best. You won’t tolerate cheating, lying and disrespect! You will require he/she has a relationship with Christ. Not just going to church, bible study and reading their bible, their works will show. They will be living the word out in front of your eyes.

