Image

 

About a month ago my Pastor called for a corporate partial Daniel fast at church. I’d NEVER done a fast in my life so I was excited UNTIL he told us we could only have fruits and vegetables plus water for a week. If you know me, you know I am a total foodie, I love to create recipes, snack and eat what I like. I thought well I need to lose some weight so maybe this will slow me down on my bad eating habits, I can strengthen my prayer life with Christ and connect with him on a deeper level. That first day was BRUTAL, but i fought through it, prayed continuously, studied my word and felt like I could make it. By day 3 I was frustrated, moody and I cracked and ate some chicken nuggets. I went to bible study and saw everyone was still on the bandwagon so it gave me the strength to continue and I’m glad I did. I made it to day 7 and had a new outlook on life, finally had a stable prayer life and was back reading the bible. So I’m going to give you 5 things I learned on the fast and hopefully you can take from it.

1.) God calls us out of our comfort zones to show us his strength through us: I never thought I’d be able to skip food for 6 days. I didn’t know that I was stronger than the food I’d been consuming. God definitely showed me his strength through that week and spoke to me in several ways.

2.) You can always improve in your relationship with God: When you are in a relationship with a person, you feed it, you call, go out and enjoy each other’s company. With God, it is sometimes easy to get comfortable and place him on a back burner because the job, the kids, the classes, the life is just busy. God wants all of us, he wants us to seek him and lay at his feet and connect with him.

3.) God hears your prayers but they have to align with his will for your life: We make plans and God will not honor what we ask for if it doesn’t align with where he is taking you. Just think about the things you ask him for; if he gave them to you imagine where you would be. I’d be divorced because that man I was with wasn’t right, I’d be homeless because I was irresponsible with money and I’d be miserable at that job because it didn’t bring glory to God or support families.

4.) You are stronger than that “thing” that has you bound: Whether you have an addiction to food, people or things, when you do something for God he will loose it. If you ask him to free you from it, he will swoop in and free you from it!

5.) God’s word is serious and he speaks to us through it: I would read the bible and still not understand what he was trying to tell me. It wasn’t until I started asking him to reveal it to me and actually tuned in to him that I understood what he was saying. He speaks, maybe not the answers we want but he definitely speaks and clearly.

So those are my things that I learned from doing a partial Daniel fast and hopefully in whichever fast you do, you can reference this. God will speak to you in subtle ways, you just have to be willing to accept his answers.

